Interview with Vicky Zamora

18bis_vickyzamora_01
Life is getting way too boring? No need to worry. If it depends on our friend Vicky Zamora, everything will be ok! Vicky is a talented artist from Chile with a style all of her own: vibrant and joyful. With a personality that totally matches her style, Vicky has won many contests and lately has been working a lot on international collaborations. We had a blast talking to her and are pleased to have her work showcased here.

Q: What was your professional aspiration as a child and how do you think this is related to your current career as an illustrator?
A: As a kid, I dreamed about being a detective. I was very curious and had a great imagination. I’d go through the neighborhood with my bike looking for mysteries. I remember an abandoned mansion, next to the house where I grew up, which was said to be haunted. I’d pass by it with my sisters and look through the windows, to see what was inside. Also, in my school, which was a very old building, there were many hidden doors and stairs. One time, we got to an inner yard through an underground passage. Then we realized it was the private place where the nuns who ran the school lived. In general, I believe I owe much to my parents, who encouraged us to play non-electronic games (I had my first Nintendo at 25) and to play in nature.

18bis_vickyzamora_02

Q: Where do you get inspiration when you’re away from the office?
A: I think there are many things in life that inspire me everyday ranging from a conversation on the subway to the contagious laughter of a lady sitting at the next table, but I think I’m more receptive to creativity when I do things that make me happy and surround myself with people that make me happy.

Q: In order to create a piece, do you make sketches by hand or do you draw directly on the computer? Can you tell us a little about your creative process?
A: When starting an art piece, I first visualize and imagine how I would like it to be. Then I draw directly on the computer. When I have many ideas encompassing the same concept, I sketch them all on paper, for comparison. But that’s if I think there are many things to be defined along the way, while I’m doing it. There are many wonderful things that happen when you make a mistake, tremble or accidentally stain something… I love the surprise factor!

18bis_vickyzamora_06

Q: There are different opinions about having a style. Some believe it is a natural way, others believe it’s a trick. What is your opinion about this topic?
A: This is a question I asked myself for many years. I worked a long time for a retail company where we were doing household products illustrations. The work was very entertaining, we had to do many things by following trends and styles were varied. I think after 3 years working there I felt the need to find my own style, my own voice. I could draw everything but nothing had my personality or character. So I decided to study in Barcelona. The road was not easy as it takes time to get out of the styles of others and find something that is truly unique and yours. I think in my case it helped me to spend some time with myself and get to know me better. I grew up and so grew my drawings!

18bis_vickyzamora_03

Q: Tell us two people who inspire you, one inside the illustration field and other from another area, be it creative or not.
A: In Illustration, I have many references but I drag most inspiration from vintage illustration from the 50s and the 60s. I try to go to many markets and look for magazines, books and stamps for inspiration. I love the work of Jim Flora, Miroslav Sasek and old cartoons like Mister Magoo. Currently, I really like the work of Nobrow Press, especially from the very talented BlexBolex. Personally, I always find inspiration in the people I love. My family and mostly my parents are people with the most beautiful and generous heart I have ever known and they have always supported me throughout my career. Also, my friends are so varied and from so many different places and cultures that all of them end up delivering much material for me to imagine and to dream over. I think having lived outside my country for so long made my imagination limitless.

18bis_vickyzamora_04

Q: Please name us an artwork that you would like to hang on your wall.
A: I’d be happy with a Magritte in my home and I really admire his work, mainly for sticking stubbornly with an idea and working it until his last days. The conceptual game that he makes between reality and fantasy, between what you see and what you read is brutal. Seeing The Key to the Fields live twisted my brain…

Q: What do you imagine yourself doing in the next 10 years?
A: I see myself happily working on my illustration and design studio.

Q: Do you own any unusual collection or object? Could you describe it with a drawing and a short description?
A: My stamp collection! They are from different parts of the world, some found in markets and others given away. I love the Olympics theme, especially when the designer’s style is in evidence, such as Otl Aicher for Moscow 72′ and Lance Wyman for Mexico 68′. I also like stamps related to children’s stories of the 50s and 60s, especially the ones from Netherlands and Germany. They are all very colorful and perfectly simple. I have always been intrigued by the challenge of being able to communicate effectively in such a small piece of paper that will travel to the farthest corners of the world! 18bis_vickyzamora_05

Una conversa inspiradora! Gracias guapa! :)

To get more from Vicky:
Vicky Zamora’s Behance
Vicky Zamora’s Facebook
Vicky Zamora’s Blog

Leave a Reply

